STC Committees are formed to address specific issues that are important to members of the Society.

Audit Committee

Meet with external auditors and communicate findings and recommendations to the board.

BOK Task Force

To develop and implement a single knowledge source that concentrates and delivers all that is technical communication – in short, a Technical Communication Body of Knowledge (TCBoK).

Community Affairs Committee (CAC)

Establish two-way communication and co-operation between community leaders and BOD/staff through the CAC conduit.

Conference Committee

Plan and oversee the education program for the annual STC Summit.

Education Advisory Panel

This ad hoc committee convenes as necessary to discuss “blue sky”  initiatives and strategic planning for future STC education programs and events.

Finance and Investment

Ensure that STC finances are managed in a legal and fiscally responsible manner.

Intercom (Editorial Advisory Panel)

Identify content that informs readers of trends and best practices in technical communication.

Nominating Committee

Ensure the STC annual election is conducted in a secure and ethical manner, on schedule, and with appropriate candidates.

To encourage excellence in the practice of technical communication and in service to STC.

STC International Summit Awards Committee (Competitions)

Define standards of professional technical communication deliverables and recognize achievement against those standards.

Student Outreach Task Force

The Student Outreach Task Force will examine the variety of experiences among diverse student groups, from first-year and returning college students to college graduates and job seekers. It will also survey members of the academy to identify areas in need of development and explore ways to better integrate students members and student chapters into the Society.

TechComm (Editorial Advisory Board)

Identify areas of research that are most likely to inform best practices in the field of technical communication.

Scholarship Committee

The Scholarship Committee recommends to the Board policies and procedures for awarding Society-level scholarships and grants, provides oversight and recommendations for geographic community scholarships and grants, reviews applications for scholarships and grants, and recommends recipients to the Board.

Sigma Tau Chi and Alpha Sigma Honor Societies

Any student member of STC may apply for membership in STX or AS if they meet all of the criteria as of 1 November. The committee chair establishes a schedule for the receipt of applications, the evaluation of candidates, and the recommendation of nominees at the winter board meeting.

Intercom (Awards)

The editor selects the judges and submits their names and the winners to the board for approval. Currently the judges are the same members as the EAP for Intercom.

Community Achievement and Pacesetter Awards Committee

STC’s Community Pacesetter Award recognizes innovative and successful community initiatives. The Community Achievement Award recognizes a SIG, professional or student chapter’s outstanding accomplishments in achieving the Society’s goals through a wide range of programs and activities.

Distinguished Community Service Awards Committee

The Distinguished Community Service Awards recognize the hard work and commitment of STC’s community leaders. The three awards—the Distinguished Chapter Service Award, Distinguished SIG Service Award, and Distinguished Service Award for Students—recognize an individual’s exemplary effort, energy, and dedication to their community and its activities.

Associate Fellows Committee

The Associate Fellows Committee formally recognizes Senior STC Members for having attained distinction in the field of technical communication.

Fellows Committee

The rank of Fellow is the highest honor an STC member can receive and may only be awarded to Associate Fellows who have continued to excel in the field of technical communication. STC Fellows contribute to the profession and the Society at the highest level, as indicated by their publications, presentations, awards, mentoring, leadership, and community service.

Honorary Fellows Committee

The rank of Honorary Fellow is conferred upon a person who is not a member of the Society but who (1) has achieved eminence in the field of technical communication or (2) has performed a significant service for the Society.

Jay R. Gould Award Recognition Committee

The goal of the committee is to honor true academic mentorship; a record of successful students, defined as those who are involved in STC, and actively working in the profession; involvement in student activities outside of the classroom; innovation and creativity in teaching, and involvement in research that leads to changes in the way technical communication is taught.

Ken Rainey Award Recognition Committee

The Ken Rainey Award honors research that has made positive, significant contributions to technical communication practice and teaching. It rewards a lifetime of quality research in the field, a single high-quality empirical study, or a set of related high-quality studies.

Frank R. Smith Award Recognition Committee

The Frank R. Smith outstanding journal article award recognizes the authors of exceptional articles that appeared in Technical Communicationduring a calendar year. Since 1966, STC has paid tribute to the authors whose contributions have made Technical Communication one of the most highly respected journals devoted to the arts and sciences of technical communication.